Living in Hindsight

Amnesia seems to me a convenient problem for those who attempt to shirk responsibility or for those who’ve a nature of ingratitude or those who are plain selfish. Often times I hear this saying: I struggled to get to where I am today. But I doubt if those saying it are truly subjective. Instead of being cold and uncompassionate, they should be a natural soft touch for the struggling class. Hence it comes to me as a very rude shock each time I see people whose beginning was humble, now providentially ‘exalted’, treat people of humble standing as nobodies or condescend when talking to them. Seldom do this class of forgetful people realise their failure in disregarding people who could use their comfort of some sort to get by some challenges. We don’t get comfort by living a shuttered life from struggling people but rather by building the people who are likely to threaten our comfort. I rarely hear of robbers raiding a rich neighbourhood. Ben Carson is one of the few people (my father and pastor Neye are the others) whose life instructs me on how to live mine. Ben has never shied away from his poor background in his life history and more so has never missed an opportunity to liberate those who are coming from his background from that background.

Growing up I took mental notes of the dynamics of so many events that happened around me, and I still do. I learned some lessons that would later inform my foresight on certain situations in life. I repeatedly advise our house help to live her life. Don’t turn off the TV at the sound of my arrival. Don’t wear a perfect front in my presence. Don’t be one thing around me and another behind me. If you appear regularly as an angel, I won’t know where you need help and how to be of help. And that’s dangerous in the long term. I grew up in a home where mistake of any kind is liable to severe punishment. That would later ruin my social intelligence and relational skill. Coming out of that childhood crises, I’ve made a solemn vow not to make robots of anyone I have a sphere of influence and authority over. There’s only one correct approach to life: live and let live. In other words, live and let someone else live.
Life is a constant state of flux. Some people are ascending the totem pole while the others are descending it. I know some poor people today who used to be rich. As well as some rich people today who used to be poor. Strangely, it seems easy to be sober when one descends the zenith of greatness than when one attained it. Ironically, instead of being excited and given to frivolities, a man should be most sober when he attains the summit of greatness. I’ve heard stories and have seen the events of life that played out in the lives of people who used to be popular, great, wealthy, and successful. It scares me. The twist of fortune that befell once-upon-a-time great people bends my neck in sorrow, not for them but myself. I always ponder on the question: where did they get it wrong and how? I’m afraid not to echo their mistakes in my life.
Cause and its relative effect are commonplace in life. The effect of a cause also disregards time and location. If I repeat the mistakes of someone in my life, I certainly will reap their kind of result. No way. I see life mostly through the experiences of others.
There is no fixed position in life. However, what seals our fate in life has so much to do with our disposition to it per time. The inconstancy of greatness is not per se in the nature and weight of it but in its handling. “Hindsight is better than foresight.” Foresight uninformed by hindsight is dead sight. The mistake foresight aims to avoid had been made in the past that hindsight now correctly understood. In tandem configuration, foresight is behind hindsight. Live and let live.

Author: Jenisi

Abatan Adewale Joseph, or Jenisi, is an electrical engineer who has passion for writing. He prides himself as a learner and a student of Life. You can reach him on +2348082674797

Leave a Reply

